We survived…

We all came back in one piece, except for me. I left half of my heart in Oswego, NY.

What more is there to say? We had an amazing trip. We lived and breathed fresh air, beautiful sunrises and sunsets, fishing, boating, singing, laughing and family. What more could you ask for?

The flights were great, strangely our kids are pros at flying! Food was delicious! Nights were memorable. Fishing was a blast. The only terribly difficult thing we endured… saying goodbye.

My heart saddened the moment we woke up on our last day. It finally sunk in that 1. I’ll be saying bye to my dad, yes, we’ll talk and communicate, but I’ll never be able to walk to the door and say good morning. 2. We were leaving our family that we completely fell in love with. And 3. We had to say goodbye to ‘home’.

Do you ever get this feeling like “I’m supposed to be here” or “this is my happiness”? That’s the feeling that overwhelmed me the entire time. It was a whole new world… my world. And I don’t live it.

It was undoubtedly an amazing trip, but I miss it. I miss it all. The hot sun, the rain, the cold river, the smell of fish, the camper, the homestead, the family, the love.

It’ll always be our home. The home that we’ll return to, hopefully every year, but as life goes on, it makes me sad to think I have to wait a whole year or possibly longer to feel that again.

Home

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.