When it Rains…

So many things happen daily that it is truly hard to keep up.

Sometimes those things are not the most fun… This year has been a huge test in character. I feel like ‘me’ a few years back would have lost it, but ‘me’ now is starting to learn to just accept and enjoy what happens. Yes, understanding ‘joy’ at specific times is difficult to do… but it gets easier and easier the more you do it.

When it Rains… It pours. Literally.

My entire living room flooded due to the wonderful rain that has helped California get out of the drought. So hey! There’s a positive, right? I sacrificed my living room to end the drought! You are welcome California. Had I not done that, who knows what would have happened… That’s what I keep telling myself.

So, there I was, home from a long day of work, only to find out that my carpet was saturated completely with rain water. Like completely… No exaggeration in that statement.

First thing I did was call my husband, who sweetly suggested that he bring home more paper towels… He too, thought I was exaggerating. Thanks guys!

Second thing was to contact the insurance. Oh hey, btw everyone, insurance doesn’t cover outside water that gets into the house… unless you agree to pay much, much more. So I’m guessing this part was our fault… but who really expects their house to flood due to some rain… I know I didn’t.

Third thing was to see if there was any chance in saving our carpet… That was a quick “Not a chance.” Needless to say, my house was turned upside down for 2 weeks…

But… see here everyone! I just had brand new floors installed in my home… OMG! And it is beautiful! The kids and dog cannot walk for crap on it… we’ve had a few bumps and bruises recently… They are kids tho, they’ll be ok! I got my floors done!

So I guess after it pours, a rainbow appears?

Perspective.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.